Haydn Voyages

Time & Place

September 12, 2021 at 2:30 PM  |  Maritime Museum of San Diego

The unique moment we find ourselves in deserves exploration and meditation, and this program seeks to provide a variety of perspectives on past and present. The concert includes a novel collection of movements from some of Haydn’s contemporaries (St. Georges, Vanhal, Dittersdorf and Mozart) assembled to create a kind of “Composite Classical” Quartet, a world premiere in its own way. Another Hausmann pandemic-era initiative was a composition competition, and the winning submission by Yangfan Xu will be featured on this show. The audience will be sent off into the San Diego sunset with Haydn’s evocative “Dream” quartet (op. 50/5).


Yangfan Xu – A Bit Blue (2019)

“Composite Classical Quartet”

St. Georges – Allegro assai from Quartet Concertant #5 in G Maj (1777)

Vanhal – Adagio from Quartet in E-flat Maj (1785)

Dittersdorf – Menuet from Quartet #6 in A Maj (1788)

Mozart – Finale from Quartet #14 in G Maj, K. 387 (1782)

Juri Seo – Infinite Season (2017-18)

Haydn – Quartet No. 40 in F major (“Dream”), Op. 50, No. 5 (1787)


*the world premiere by Joshua Roman originally scheduled for this concert will be performed at a later date TBA*

Photo by Vincent Giersch
Venue Information:

Maritime Museum of San Diego

1492 N Harbor Dr
San Diego, CA 92101