Haydn Voyages


November 24, 2024 at 2:30pm  |  Maritime Museum of San Diego

When we think of art as “revolutionary,” we are most often considering the content of the work itself. This program also asks us to consider the context of its creation, as the opening Haydn quartet (opus 55, no. 2 “Razor”) is followed by Victor Ullmann’s third string quartet, written in 1943 in the Theresienstadt concentration camp. The second half features Gabriela Smith’s raucous Carrot Revolution, and the ninth season ends in epic fashion with Beethoven’s final work, his Quartet in F Major, opus 135.


Haydn – Quartet No. 46 in F minor (“Razor”), Op. 55, No. 2 (1788)

Victor Ullmann – Quartet No. 3, op. 46 (1943)

Gabriella Smith – Carrot Revolution (2015)

Beethoven Quartet No. 16 in F Major, Op. 135 (1826)

Venue Information:

Maritime Museum of San Diego

1492 N. Harbor Dr.

San Diego, CA 92101