Haydn Voyages

Nature Sounds

November 6, 2022 at 2:30 PM  |  Maritime Museum of San Diego

A world premiere quintet by Jessica Meyer (commissioned for the Hausmann Quartet and featuring the composer performing on viola) is the centerpiece of this program, which explores our relationship to the natural world and the alarming changes it is undergoing. George Walker’s tender, evocative Lyric and Haydn’s sunny opus 20/2 are matched with Peter Schulthorpe’s hauntingly beautiful Quartet #18, his “hearfelt expression of my concern about climate change, about the future of our fragile planet.”


Joseph Haydn – Quartet no. 25 in C Major, Op. 20, No. 2 (1772)

George Walker – Lyric (from Quartet no. 1) (1946)

Peter Schulthorpe – Quartet no. 18 (2010)

Jessica Meyer – Quintet *world premiere*

Venue Information:

Maritime Museum of San Diego

1492 N. Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92101